A Step Toward Balance

Inspired by Nicola at Which Name?, I’m attempting to find more balance in my life, one step at a time. Each month I’m incorporating something into my life that should help me feel a bit more balanced, relaxed, and calm.

Last month I chose meditation. While I’m not meditating every day, I am meditating between 10-20 minutes each day, roughly 5 days a week. On days I successfully meditate, I do feel more balanced. It’s easier to control my scatter of a brain and stay calm throughout a day spent with young children.

This month I’m choosing sleep. April is going to be a very busy month for my family. My partner will be traveling out of town half the month and we’ll be traveling one weekend together; my in-laws will be visiting; and every weekend has something happening.  I like to get up at 5am before the rest of the family. It’s my time to practice asana, read, and walk the dog. Waking at 5am, however, is difficult when I don’t get to sleep until 10:30 or 11 the night before. So…for April I’m going to try to be in bed by 9pm. I will read for an hour and turn off the light by 10pm.

With my partner gone so much of the month, I need to stay well rested because I won’t be getting a break. Some friends will be helping here and there during the day, but it’ll just be me at night and I can’t count on the kids to sleep throughout it. Lights out at 10pm should help. Here’s to a restful April!

4 thoughts on “A Step Toward Balance

  1. we’ve been going to be in the 9 o’clock hour versus the 10 o’clock hour for a couple of years now. it makes SO much difference in the quality of our lives.

    the alarm in the morning is so much less painful, work is more easeful and weekends are spent less in recovery from the week.

    i don’t know about you, but that 9-10pm isn’t my most productive anyway, so why not just go to sleep?

    i hope the little ones cooperate (at least a little) so everyone is more rested!

    • That’s the problem. The 9-10 hour is very productive for me. Always has been. But…I need to be resting and not doing. I was in bed by 9:30 last night. I’m going to try and make it a bit earlier tonight.

  2. I do hope you get rest! I chose exercise and then realized in order to make that happen, I need to choose sleep also!
    I am so glad you are feeling more balanced!
    Nicola

  3. Pingback: A step toward balance :: sleep, take 2 « Urban Almanac

Leave a comment