Bread

My family likes bread. I think I’ve mentioned that we make our own bread. For the past year, we’ve used recipes from Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day. The recipes use the no-knead method. You simply mix the dough, let it rise for a couple of hours and then place it in the fridge until you’re ready to bake a loaf. Super easy. Very quick. Quite tasty.

And then we decided that we really wanted to be eating 100 percent whole wheat bread. The 5 minute bread book has a few recipes that  use whole wheat flour, and one that uses only whole wheat flour. We tried it and it was just a bit too dense for our tastes.

With that, the search for a new bread recipe and method began. We’ve heard good (great…really) things about The Tassajara Bread Book. I borrowed it from the library and spent Monday afternoon making bread…the old fashioned way. And my…what a difference a bit of kneading makes. The loaves are huge! And whole wheat! And not too dense!

Although it took all afternoon and evening to make the bread, it wasn’t difficult. It will be some time until I have the method down–and I need a few kitchen supplies to make the process a bit easier–but I’m excited enough by the initial results to try again. I’ll probably keep a container of no-knead bread in the fridge for rolls, hamburger buns and the like. With The Tassajra Bread Book due at the library, however, I’ll also be looking for a used copy at a local used book store for regular reference.

One thought on “Bread

  1. Wow, Amanda, I’m so impressed. I WANT to be ding the things you are doing. I LOVE bread. I’ve just started looking into homemade shampoos, conditioners, soap and lotion (born of the same concerns you’ve mentioned) – but have yet to dive in. I’m overwhelmed by the chemistry of it all and the ingredients I don’t ‘get’.

    I too have tried bread a few times, but without much success . . . the timing is so precise, and I always seem to mess that up and end up with something no one really wants to eat.

    My intimidation of these processes lessens the more I hear of people trying it out and embracing the process.

    I’m inspired by your efforts and successes! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

