Barter, anyone?

I hear that bartering is on the rise. I’ve been using it on and off for free yoga for the last few years.  I recall my parents bartering newspaper advertisements (they owned a newspaper when I was growing up) for hotel stays.

I’m not sure why people don’t use it more often. Lack of time? Lack of knowledge and/or skills to trade? I doubt the latter. Everyone has a thing or two they’re really good at…or good enough.

I studied community development in grad school and read so many books illustrating how we all use to help each other out more. Barn raisings, anyone? In Radical Homemakers, Shannon Hayes discusses how necessary and beneficial bartering is to sustainable, households, homesteads, and communities.

This is my attempt to rejuvenate the barter system in my neck of the woods.

Here’s what I need. Let me know if you can help me out:

1) Photography lessons. We received a DSLR for Christmas and I really want to learn how to use it. Since having kids, however, it’s almost impossible for me to learn anything from a book. I’m a hands-on learner and someone needs to explain and show me what to do.

2) Workworking. We recently received a new kitchen table and chairs from our neighbors free of charge. The set needs a little work. I need someone to strengthen everything so it stops wobbling so much.

Here’s what I can offer in exchange:

  • yoga classes
  • pie (shh…Margie doesn’t know I’m offering her services, too)
  • knitting
  • sewing

What do you think? Ready to barter?

4 thoughts on “Barter, anyone?

  1. i ❤ bartering. best.thing.ever. well, next to swapping.

    anyway, i posted this link on my fb since i can not be of service. maybe my peeps can be.

    i may have to do a post like this too.

  2. Pingback: In Case You Missed It Edition!, Volume 22 « Teacher Goes Back to School

Leave a Reply

