No, no, no, yes, yes, yes…updates

I realize that it’s only been a couple of days since I posted about our no spend month and just yesterday since I posted about our cleanse/elimination diet. Regardless, I’m going to write an up-date.

Things are going well on both counts. But…oh…the suffering I have caused myself. I just responded to a comment with something like, “It’s so often mind over matter with these things and far too often it’s the matter that wins.” This month is really about changing habits and being mindful (as a couple of comments mentioned). But the suffering along the way is very frustrating.

Let me give you an example. I went to the Co-Op last night (Sacramento Natural Foods Co-Op, where we do most of our shopping). I needed some gluten-free bread and rice cakes. I struggled with snacks for the kids yesterday and really needed some easy things to grab for today and the rest of the week. That’s all fine and good (albeit expensive!). The suffering was the 5 minutes I spent wandering around the store searching for some type of sweet, chocolatey dessert thing I could eat. Seriously. Deli items. Packaged cookies. Chocolate bars. Baking mixes. Only one item was free of everything I’m trying to avoid right now, but the calories were front and center and I didn’t want to know how much I was consuming. So…I left without anything sweet. Score one for me!

Today I made fudge. Sort of. It’s a recipe from Revive: Stop Feeling Spent and Start Living Again. It has tahini (sesame seed butter), cocoa powder, agave nectar, vanilla, and salt. I couldn’t get passed my mid-day chocolate urge and succumbed to cocoa powder and agave nectar. Both are okay to have, but I’m still getting sucked in by the habit and routine of it all. I may have to forgo agave nectar as well. Definitely a work in progress.

No spend month. I did buy the fabric I mentioned in my initial post. I also bought a new sports bra and a necklace…with a gift card. I decided that no spend didn’t limit gift card purchases. Besides, the sports bra was needed. No comment on the necklace. The habit of spending is still strong and this is definitely a work in progress. To my credit, however (I will take it where I can get it), I did not buy a latte this morning (the sitter comes on Thursdays and I like to go to a coffee shop and sip on a chai latte while I write). I also refrained from buying the purse I’ve been wanting for months that’s currently on sale (it’s so very much on sale…sigh…), and the pattern for a pair of mittens I want to knit. Some mindfulness is happening.

Upward and onward…right?

2 thoughts on “No, no, no, yes, yes, yes…updates

Leave a Reply

