Homemade window cleaner

For the past year or more, I’ve been using homemade cleaning solutions for just about everything: wood floors, bathrooms, and the toilet. It’s fun to make the recipes (especially the toilet cleaner: combining baking soda and vinegar creates lots of fizz) and the essential oils that I use smell so good.

I have also been using up existing cleaning supplies, namely window cleaner and a tile and linoleum solution. The time has finally come for a homemade window solution. I have one recipe that I used this afternoon. It uses castile soap, white vinegar, baking soda, and lemon oil. I’m not sure how I like it. It’s practically impossible to get rid of all of the streaks. I don’t expect exactly the same results when using homemade solutions, but I also want my efforts to be worth my time. (Too many years of Windex, I suppose.)

So…my question to anyone out there who uses their own window cleaner: What’s your recipe?

Thanks for sharing!

3 thoughts on “Homemade window cleaner

  1. I use a microfiber cloth that’s especially for glass (I can’t remember where I got it; it’s blue and not fuzzy like those for dusting)–all you need is a bit of water and it gets windows spotless!

Leave a Reply

