Random stuff

Lots going through my mind these days. All good, but it’s keeping me a bit scattered. Here are a few thoughts:

  • Still thinking a lot about the iPhone or the iPod Touch. Why can’t I just let it go? I can make do without it, but it would be really helpful while traveling in August and in playing music in my yoga classes. But really…it’s an electronic piece of plastic that will be obsolete in 6 months. Sigh…
  • Getting closer to making a decision about the bicycle. It’s quite exciting!
  • Preparing for minimum wage. Margie will–most likely–be making minimum wage next month thanks to the state legislature and governor’s inability to do their job. Good bye furloughs, hello super-duper penny pinching.
  • Considering re-financing the house. Interest rates are so low! Fifteen year mortgage anyone! Woohoo!
  • I may be teaching yoga too much. Or trying to do too many sewing and knitting projects. Or too much blog writing. This is all to say something may need to go.
  • My meditation practice has been non-existent for the past week. Could this be contributing to my scattered brain?

Thanks for indulging…

8 thoughts on “Random stuff

  1. I love my iphone… LOVE it. But then, I’m a gadget girl. Now my wife? She’s anti-gadget… and she loves my iphone! I got her an ipod touch for Christmas this year. I wasn’t sure if she’d like it, but it’s safe to now say she loves it – some great apps for running, music, a few games and she’s happy.

  2. And it’s total crap about that minimum wage stuff… how can that even be legal?? Ugh. I so hope it does not come to that!!

  3. Yeah, complete crap about the possible minimum wage. I agree, how can that even be legal???

    Don’t give up crafting!! I love seeing what you create!! btw – Do you have a favorite toddler dress pattern? If so, what is it?
    I just made my second Flower Girl Dress from Weekend Sewing and if you ever make this, know that the sizing runs really small!!

    • Brenna–I don’t have a favorite toddler dress pattern. I planned to make Adelaide a number of dresses this spring/summer but she was given a bunch for her birthday and as hand-me-downs and I couldn’t justify the time in something no longer needed. I did plan to make her the smocked dress in Weekend Sewing, as well as the Leisurely dress found here: http://sewmamasew.com/blog2/?p=7289. They’re very similar and seem really simple.

      A year or so ago I made Adelaide a dress from Oliver & S. I love their patterns, but they cost $15 each. I really want to buy one of their most recent patterns for Adelaide (http://www.oliverands.com/patterns/dresses/patterns8.phtml)…perhaps for fall.

  4. Amanda, would you like to borrow my ipod for awhile? It’s an “oldie” (not an ipod touch). I have all my music on my iphone now, so I’m not currently using it. I’m not sure if I have an extra charger, but that part is pretty cheap.

    • Really? That’s so nice of you, Betsy! I’d love to borrow it and see how much I really use/want to use the iPod for my yoga classes. When would it be convenient to stop by?

  5. Just so you know, you aren’t alone in the nuttiness of wanting/not wanting to buy more electronics. I briefly looked at the iphone and decided I could better use that $100 per month on plane tickets and other fun stuff.

    Which of course brought me to the ipod Touch versus the netbook riddle I’m currently trying to solve. My current laptop is perfectly fine, but it is so BIG and so heavy that now I want a smaller version for when I travel. *sigh* Do I get a new gadget or just carry what I’ve got?

  6. Well, I was going to say go for it on the iPhone, but then I read on to the rest of your list. Sorry about the job pay woes. 😦
    I am with you something having to go. Blog time has for me. I miss it, but the satisfaction of completing projects has been lovely!
    Nicola

Leave a Reply

