Celebrations

Much celebrating in our house this week. Today is my birthday. Wednesday is my daughter’s.

For some reason birthdays are always a bit strange for me. I like to think that I’m a half-full kind of person, but when birthdays roll around I can’t help but get a bit meloncholy. It doesn’t help that it’s an overcast day here in Sacramento. Don’t get me wrong, I’m having a lovely day. The family has been wonderful. We’re going out to dinner tonight. But you know…while I’m very excited about the years to come, it’s hard not to think about the time that has gone past.

In the spirit of moving past that and to try to be constructively introspective on my birthday, I’ve made a list of things for which I’m grateful and/or learned over the past 35 years:

  • Hair. I have great hair. I really do. It can be crazy some days and it seldom looks perfect, but it’s pretty great hair.
  • Body. I’ve always struggled–and still do–with body image issues. But I finally appreciate my body and am thankful for the amazing things it has done.
  • Kids. My kids are really cute. Seriously cute. Gerber baby cute.
  • Wife. She’s cute, too. She’s also smart, witty, committed, inquisitive, and a wonderful life partner.
  • Family. I couldn’t ask for a better family. My parents, siblings, grandparents, and extended family are all wonderfully supportive, loving, and accepting.
  • Food. So many possibilities! And to live in a place that supplies and celebrates local, seasonal food is a real blessing.
  • Yoga. I don’t even know where to begin, so I’ll simply state, yoga.
  • Nature. It fills the soul.
  • Creativity. In all it’s forms: writing, sewing, knitting, children’s art “projects.” It also fills the soul.
  • Being middle class. This may seem a bit odd. Given the current economic situation and the poverty rate throughout much of the world, however, I’m very grateful to have been born in a middle-class family and to still be middle-class. Margie and I own a good home. We have no problem feeding, clothing, and supporting our children and ourselves. I’m able to stay home with our children. Over the past 35 years, I’ve learned that these conditions are significant and should not be taken for granted.

Okay. That’s all. This is in no way an all-inclusive list, but simply what I had time to write in the 20 minutes or so I had at the computer. I promise to be more up-beat the rest of the week. Lots of pictures of 2-year-olds covered in ice cream to come.

The birthday girls.

2 thoughts on “Celebrations

  1. Some birthdays are like that – melancholy – others are over-the-top. 29 was hard for me – have no idea why.
    You are a beautiful, wonderful person and I am blessed to have you for a daughter.

Leave a Reply

