The right tools

I’m still making bread the old fashioned way. Admittedly, we run out of bread from time to time and buy a loaf.  Some days I just can’t pay attention to the steps well enough. Ninety percent of the time, however, we’re eating homemade bread and using a recipe from the Tassajara Bread Book. I can’t recommend this book enough. In fact, I finally bought a copy. Amazingly, I found a used copy at Powell’s Bookstore while visiting Portland a few weeks ago. It’s very hard to find this book used.

Aiding me in my bread making is my new bread bowl. The recipe I use makes 4 loaves and 16-20 cups of flour. That’s a lot of dough. The largest bowl we have couldn’t contain the sponge and I was often left with a sticky mess on my counter. Margie visited a local restaurant supply store and purchased a bowl measuring 19 inches in diameter and 5.5 in depth. It’s huge. No more sticky gooey mess on my counter. The right tools can make all the difference!

I know you really want to see my bowl. Here you go:

Leave a Reply

