Smoothies

I’ve been in a smoothie rut for…um…a couple of years. Cocoa powder and almond milk (or chocolate almond milk), frozen banana, peanut butter, yogurt, and honey (if cocoa powder was used). Not a horrible combination. Fruit…protein, probiotics, and the allergy fighting attributes of local honey.

I have been inspired, however, by the Green Smoothie Challenge to shake it up a bit. I’m not participating in the challenge, but am exploring other recipes. Today I did indeed make a green smoothie. Using Shivaya Natural’s recently posted recipe as a start, I made the following smoothie:

  • banana
  • strawberries
  • apple
  • orange juice
  • kale
  • honey
  • flax meal

It was good. I think I’ll make it again. The 4 ½ year old liked it, the 23-month old didn’t, and the partner wouldn’t touch it. So…perhaps I’ll keep playing with the recipe. At least I know I can drink a green smoothie…and more importantly one without chocolate.

3 thoughts on “Smoothies

  1. We’ve been using a juicer (not a blender) most every morning for nearly 3 years. Here’s our standard recipe:
    – 1/2 bunch kale
    – 1/2 bunch of celery
    – 1 chunk of fresh ginger (size of thumb)
    – 2 apples
    – 1 lemon
    This makes about 24 oz. and it is delicious. From this base, we often throw in whatever we might have on hand, such as bell peppers, carrots, tomatoes, zuccini, broccoli stems, other greens, other fruit, etc.

  2. Pingback: Yoga+Music(notquite365) Grace by Jeff Buckley – Recipe Edition! « Teachergoesbacktoschool's Blog

Leave a Reply

