A New Perspective

I am home from a 5-day trip to Michigan. A “cottage” right on Lake Michigan to be more precise. My family will be there for another 9 days. My partner’s family has vacationed there for well over 30 years. My in-laws rent a “cottage” (this year it was a 5 bedroom, 4 bath house surrounded my similar sized “cottages”) in a little community that is quite lovely. When I first heard of this place as a vacation destination, I scoffed at the idea. The native Californian in me whose only previous experience in Michigan was the Detroit suburbs couldn’t imagine why anyone would travel to Michigan to vacation.

Nine years, one marriage, and two kids later, I get it. And I’m sad that I only spent 5 days there this year. Of course I miss being a way from my kids and partner (but am also enjoying time home…alone), but I also miss the different feel of summer, afternoons spent on the beach, nighttime walks with an exuberant soon to be 4-year-old, and fishing boats blinking on the horizon as they go out for their nightly catch.

I also miss watching my partner run down a sand dune with abandon and her excitement in taking our son on a sailboat ride.

On the upside, I have 20 pounds of just-picked Michigan blueberries at my disposal, and my hair is no longer a frizzy mess. And thankfully there is next year. My in-laws will undoubtedly rent another cottage and we will most likely go. I think I’m starting to look forward to this vacation.

One thought on “A New Perspective

Leave a Reply

